Local Government Areas

The Wimmera region covers all or part of no less than six local government areas. As local government and electoral boundaries have changed, so has the region's governance. A lot of work in the Wimmera is undertaken at the regional level. Businesses and communities across the region often experience similar situations, so it makes sense to address issues across local government boundaries.

Horsham Rural City Council

Horsham is a lively city, centrally located in the Wimmera, with excellent opportunities for shopping, dining, entertainment and accommodation. It is the main city and regional centre of the Wimmera.  Ithas a vibrant community and a thriving business sector. Horsham Rural City Council covers 4,329 square kilometres and has a population of around 13,000 in Horsham and another 7,000 in small towns.

Horsham and surrounding towns are renowned for their dynamic arts community and natural environment. Wartook Valley, in the Grampians and Black Range State Park are a picturesque short drive away, worth seeing for their wildlife, wildflowers, dramatic scenery and wind swept caverns. The picturesque heritage town of Natimuk is situated under the shadow of the world famous rock climbing Mount Arapiles.
Visit Website


West Wimmera Shire Council

The West Wimmera Shire encompasses 9,200 square kilometres from the Big Desert Wilderness Park in the north, down through the unique Little Desert National Park and Lake Charlegrark in the centre, then onto the Glenelg River in the south, and across to the South Australian border in the west.

The two main towns in the Shire are Edenhope and Kaniva, which both offer a full range of shops, businesses and services. Weather within the West Wimmera Shire varies from the perfect Mediterranean climate in the north to more moderate temperatures in the south.
Visit Website


Hindmarsh Shire Council

The Hindmarsh Shire is situated in central North West Victoria, south of the Mallee and north of the Grampians and about 350 kilometres north-west of Melbourne. It covers an area of 7,527 square kilometres and has a population of 6,200.  Nhill is the main service centre in the Shire, with smaller towns including Dimboola, Rainbow and Jeparit.

Although Hindmarsh Shire is the sixth largest municipality in Victoria in area, it has the fifth smallest population so there is lots of space to grow and enjoy country life.

Our major industry is agriculture, with 62% of all business enterprises being in this sector. It is based largely on grain and sheep production, but in recent years has diversified into the production of oilseeds and legumes.

Hindmarsh Shire is home to the Little Desert and Wyperfeld National Parks, Lake Hindmarsh and Lake Albacutya.
Visit Website


Yarriambiack Shire Council

Yarriambiack Shire Council has an area of 7,158 square kilometres and has a population of around 7,300. The Shire stretches from the Wimmera River near the Grampians in the south, to the centre of the Mallee in the north.

Warracknabeal is the main service centre of the area, with a catchment pattern that extends from the northern Wimmera to the Southern Mallee. It is complemented by Hopetoun in the north and Minyip, Murtoa and Rupanyup in the south, with another eleven small towns spread throughout the municipality.

The Shire is the heartland of grain production and handling in the Wimmera/Mallee. The dry-land farming area produces one quarter of Victoria's total production of wheat and barley and is noted for the production of lambs and wool. Legume and oilseed crops are very important and alternative livestock enterprises are also well established.
Visit Website



Buloke Shire

The Buloke Shire is located in north-west Victoria on the eastern edge of the Wimmera plains and southern Mallee. It occupies an area of  8,001 square kilometres with an estimated resident population of  7,028 (ABS 2010) – less than one person per square kilometre.

One of the Shire's main townships, Donald, is considerd to be part of the Wimmera region, while other parts of the Shire fall into the Mallee region.

Agriculture, specifically grain production, is the primary source of income and employment in the area. Other forms of farming, education, retail, community service sectors and light industry also provide employment and income.
Visit Website


Northern Grampians Shire

Possessing some of the world's most spectacular natural scenery and a rich golden heritage, the Northern Grampians Shire has established an exceptional reputation as a place to live, work, invest and visit.

Located in the beautiful Grampians region of provincial Victoria, the Shire covers almost 6,000 square kilometres and services the some major Wimmera towns, such as Stawell, St Arnaud, Navarre, Glenorchy and Marnoo.
Visit Website